Administrative Staff

2018-19 General Catalog

University Administration | UC Santa Cruz Administration | The UC Santa Cruz Foundation

University Administration

The governance of the university is entrusted, under the state constitution, to the Regents of the University of California. The Board of Regents is presently composed of 18 members who are appointed by the governor of California, subject to California State Senate confirmation; seven members who participate because of the offices they hold; and a student member appointed by the board.

The president of the university is the chief executive of the 10-campus system. He or she is appointed by the Regents and is directly responsible to them.

Each of the 10 campuses of the university has a chancellor, its chief administrative officer, who is responsible for the organization and operation of the campus, including academic, student, and business affairs.

The Academic Senate, consisting of the faculty and certain administrative officers, determines the conditions for admission and degrees, subject to the approval of the Regents; authorizes and supervises courses and curricula; and advises the university administration on important matters such as appointments and promotions, budgets, student discipline, and administration of the library.

The Regents

Ex Officio Regents

Jerry Brown
Governor of California

Gavin Newsom
Lieutenant Governor

Anthony Rendon
Speaker of the Assembly

Tom Torlakson
Superintendent of Public Instruction

Janet Napolitano
President of the University

Darin Anderson
Vice Chair, Alumni Associations of the University of California

Jason Morimoto
President, Alumni Associations of the University of California

Appointed Regents

(Term expires on March 1 of year indicated)

Maria Anguiano (2029)

Richard C. Blum (2026)

Gareth Elliott (2025)

Howard "Peter" Guber (2029)

George Kieffer (Chair) (2021)

Sherry L. Lansing (2022)

Hadi Makarechian (2020)

Eloy Ortiz Oakley (2024)

Lark Park (2029)

John A. Pérez (Vice Chair) (2024)

Richard Sherman (2025)

Ellen Tauscher (2029)

Charlene Zettel (2021)

Student Regent

Devon Graves (2017–18)

Officers of the Regents

Jerry Brown
President of the Board

Monica Lozano
Chairman of the Board

Charles F. Robinson
General Counsel and Vice President, Legal Affairs

Anne Shaw
Secretary and Chief of Staff

Jagdeep Singh Bachher
Chief Investment Officer and Vice President, Investments

Alexander Bustamante
Chief Compliance and Audit Officer

University Officers

Janet Napolitano

Executive Vice President—Chief Operating Officer
Rachael Nava

Chief Administrative Officer
Jaime Campbell

Provost and Executive Vice President—Academic Affairs
Michael T. Brown

Executive Vice President—Chief Financial Officer
Nathan Brostrom

Vice President—Laboratory Management
Kimberly S. Budil

Senior Vice President—Public Affairs
Claire Holmes (Interim)

Senior Vice President—Government Relations

Vice President—Agriculture and Natural Resources
Glenda Humiston

Vice President—Student Affairs
Robin Holmes-Sullivan


UC Berkeley
Carol Christ

UC Davis
Gary May

UC Irvine
Howard Gillman

Gene D. Block

UC Merced
Dorothy Leland

UC Riverside
Kim A. Wilcox

UC San Diego
Pradeep Khosla

UC San Francisco
Sam Hawgood

UC Santa Barbara
Henry T. Yang

UC Santa Cruz
George R. Blumenthal

UC Santa Cruz Administration

George R. Blumenthal

Campus Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor
Marlene Tromp

Associate Chancellor
Ashish Sahni

Chief Campus Counsel
Lorena Peñaloza

Associate Campus Counsel
Liv Hassett

Vice Provost—Academic Affairs
Herbert Lee

Vice Provost and Dean—Graduate Studies
Lori Kletzer

Vice Provost and Dean—Undergraduate Education and Summer Session
Richard Hughey

Associate Vice Chancellor—Enrollment Management
Michelle Whittingham

Interim Dean of Students
T.M. Robinson-Mosley

Assistant Vice Chancellor—Academic Personnel
Grace McClintock

Vice Chancellor—Research and Principal Officer, Silicon Valley Initiatives
Scott Brandt

University Librarian
M. Elizabeth Cowell

Director, Office of Sponsored Projects
Kate Aja

Director, Office of Management of Intellectual Property
Jeff Jackson

Director, Office of Research Compliance
Tani Prestage

Vice Chancellor—University Relations
Keith Brant

Associate Vice Chancellor—Strategic Philanthropy
Jeff Shilling

Assistant Vice Chancellor—Constituent Engagement
Howard Heevner

Assistant Vice Chancellor—Marketing and Communications
Sherry Main

Director, Government Relations
Melissa Whatley

Vice Chancellor—Planning and Budget
Margaret Delaney

Vice Chancellor—Business and Administrative Services
Sarah Latham

Associate Vice Chancellor—Colleges, Housing and Educational Services (CHES)
Sue Matthews

Associate Vice Chancellor—Physical Planning and Construction
Traci Ferdolage

Associate Vice Chancellor—Risk and Safety Services
Jean Marie Scott

Assistant Vice Chancellor—Financial Affairs
Kirk L. Lew

Associate Vice Chancellor—Staff Human Resources
Steven Stein

Vice Chancellor—Information Technology
Van Williams

College Administrative Officers
Deana Slater, Colleges Nine and Ten
Carolyn Golz, Cowell and Stevenson Colleges
Alex Belisario, Crown and Merrill Colleges
Brian Arao, Oakes College and Rachel Carson College
Michael Yamauchi-Gleason, Porter and Kresge Colleges

The UC Santa Cruz Foundation

The UC Santa Cruz Foundation is a nonprofit, public benefit corporation formed in 1974 to promote greater understanding of UC Santa Cruz and to encourage and accept gifts in support of academic programs, scholarships, fellowships, and capital improvements.

For more information about the UC Santa Cruz Foundation and for a current list of the Board of Trustees and Officers, visit UC Santa Cruz Foundation.

[Return to top]

Revised: 07/15/18